Immigration requirements

For immigration purposes, Malaysia is divided into three regions, namely:
a) Peninsular Malaysia viz., Johor Darul Takzim, Kedah Darul Aman, Kelantan Darul Naim, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan Darul Khusus, Pahang Darul Makmur, Perak Darul Ridzhuan, Perlis Kayangan, Pulau Pinang, Selangor Darul Ehsan and Terengganu Darul Iman;
b) Sabah; and
c) Sarawak

Conditions for Entry


All travelers entering Malaysia should have national passports or other internationally recognized travel documents endorsed valid for travel to Malaysia. These passports or travel documents must be valid at least six months beyond the period of stay required in Malaysia.

Those who have passports not recognized by Malaysia must apply for a document in lieu of passport. This is issued by Malaysian missions abroad and the fee is Rm50.00 payable in local currency equivalent. However, they must have valid passports or other forms of travel documents to ensure re-entry into their own countries of domicile.

Visa Requirement

Foreign nationals who require a visa to enter Malaysia must first apply and obtain a visa in advance at the Malaysian representative office before entering the country.

Possession of Travel Ticket and Sufficient Funds

A visitor is also required to present proof of his financial ability to finance his/her stay in Malaysia together with a confirmed return ticket to other destinations.

Exemption from the Need to Hold a Passport

Certain classes of persons are exempted from the need to be in possession of a passport to enter Malaysia:
(a) Members of the royal Malaysian Armed forces travelling on duty;
(b) Members of any visiting forces within the meaning of any law for the time being in force regulating visiting forces present in the federation;
(c) Any person whose age does not exceed fifteen years if his name is endorsed on, and he is accompanying an audit in possession of, a valid passport, and such endorsement has been authorized by or an behalf of the authority issuing such passport;
(d) The master and any person carried in a vessel or aircraft as a bona fide member of the staff employed in the operation or service of such vessel has articles, entered on such articles;
(e) Muslim pilgrims returning to Malaysia in possession of a valid Pilgrims Passports as issued in Malaysia;
(f) Any person who entering Malaysia is in possession of a valid Certificate of Status issued by the Malaysian Immigration Department;
(g) Any person entering Malaysia by land from Thailand and in possession of a valid Border Pass; and
(h) Any person entering Malaysia by land from Indonesia and in possession of a valid Border Pass.

Visa Requirement for Malaysia

Visa-Free Visit

Common wealth citizens , British protected Persons or Citizens of the Republic of Ireland, Switzerland, Netherlands, San Marino and Liechtenstein do not require a Visa to enter Malaysia.

Three Months Visa-Free Visit

Citizens of Albania, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Republic of Slovakla, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Japan, South Korea, Luxembourg, Norway, Sweden, Italy, United States of America, Algeria, Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Egypt, Morocco, North Yemen, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Turkey and Tunisia do not require a visa for a social or business visit not exceeding three months.

One Month Visa-Free Visit

Nationals of ASEAN countries ( Indonesia, Singapore, Brunei, Thailand and Philippines, except Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam, do not require a visa for a social or business visit not exceeding one month.

Fourteen Days Visa-Free Visit

Citizens of Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Syria and South Yemen do not require a visa for a social or business visit not exceeding 14 days.

Seven-Days Visa-Free Visit

Citizens of Bulgaria, Romania and CIS countries do not require a visa for a social or business visit not exceeding one week.

Visa-Required Countries

Nationals of Republic of China (Taiwan), People's Republic of china (PRC), Cuba, Vietnam, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, North Korea, Nepal, Myanmar, Laos, Bhutan and all certificate of Identity holders, Titre de Voyage holders must obtain a visa before entering Malaysia.

Other Countries

Citizens of countries other than those stated above are allowed to enter Malaysia for a social or business visit not exceeding one month without visa.

Types of Visa

Three types of visa are issued:-
· Single-Entry Visa
· Multiple-Entry Visa
· Transit Visa

How to Apply for a Visa

Visitors may apply to any of the Malaysian Immigration Attache Offices, the High Commissions, Embassies or Consulate offices enclosing the following documents:

· Passport or Travel Document recognized by the Malaysian Government
· Visa application form IM.47 (3 copies)
· Travel tickets
· Three recent photographs of the applicant measuring 3.5 cm * 5.0 cm
· Proof of financial ability to support oneself

In a country where there is no Malaysian Overseas Mission a visa can be applied and obtained from the British Embassy/Consulate.

72 hours Visa-Free Visit

Citizens of visa required countries are allowed to transit in Malaysia not exceeding 72 hours without visa subject to the following conditions :

Possess a confirmed onward-journey airline ticket.
This facility is only permitted at the main airports, namely :-

· Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah International Airport (Kuala Lumpur)
· Bayan Lepas Airport (Pulau Pinang)
· Senai Airport (Johor Bahru, Johor)
· Kuching Airport (Sarawak)
· Kota Kinabalu Airport (Sabah)

Traveling between Malaysian Territories

An alien intending to visit any part of Malaysia is required to be in possession of only one visa, provided he travels direct from one part of the country to another.

Visit passes issued for entry into Peninsula Malaysia are not valid for entry into Sabah and Sarawak. Fresh visit passes must be obtained on arrival at the point of entry in those States. However, subject to conditions stipulated, visit passes issued by the Immigration authorities in Sabah and Sarawak are valid for any part of Malaysia.

Immigration Entry/Exit Control

All visitors to Malaysia are required on arrival at any gazetted entry point to complete a disembarkation/embarkation card. Citizens and non-citizens who are permanent residents are exempted to hand over the embarkation card to the immigration authorities at the exit point.